Before we move, we mentioned everything that was coming to WhatsApp this year, including dark mode — and now, the company wants to introduce disappearing message in its new update.
The update will allow users to send messages to other users, and the message will be deleted after seven days.
Although, the rumors have been on for some time now, and testing has been going on. Facebook on the other hand is making sure dark mode is available for all its products, and the beta tester can turn on dark mode for Facebook. And even at that, another new feature is coming through this WhatsApp update.
Before the next WhatsApp update with the feature, the company has already prepared a guide, on how to use the disappearing message in an FAQ section on its website. So, there are things you need to know before even engaging to use the disappearing message — its shows all the information you need to know on the disappearing message.
So, the guide shows that the company will be releasing the disappearing message feature in a new coming update — and this might just be what users want. To enable messages to disappear over some time.
If you visit the FAQ section on the WhatsApp site, you’ll see how you can turn on the disappearing message on WhatsApp once you get the update. And don’t forget to turn on WhatsApp dark mode at night.
Enable the new DM in the new update
If you want the feature, you can send messages that disappear on WhatsApp by enabling disappearing messages.
To turn on the new feature, you need to open WhatsApp, and tap on the contact’s/chat/group name and select ‘Disappearing Messages’ — once prompt, select ‘On’ to enable the feature.
If you want to disable or turn off the feature, follow the instructions again, and when prompt select ‘Off’ to disable the feature. If it’s a group chat, only admins can enable disappearing messages.
What’s in the new update
The new feature won’t affect messages that you’ve previously sent or received in the chat or group you’ve enabled to disappear message. Once you’ve turned on the feature — any message from that moment that is sent to the contact or group will automatically disappear after seven days.
If you enable WhatsApp disappearing message, and the message you sent to a chat or WhatsApp group is forwarded to a chat, or group where the new feature is turned off — the message in the forwarded chat won’t disappear.
Another is that, when you reply to a message in a chat, the message being reply is quoted for reference. With the disappearing message turned on — the quoted reply message might still be in the chat upon the seven days had passed.
If you create a backup for your WhatsApp when the disappearing message is turned on, the disappearing message will be included in the backup, and when it’s restored, the messages will be deleted.
The media will still be on your phone, even after the seven days had passed because the media is saved on your phone. If the feature is turned on, media sent in the chat will disappear but will be saved on the phone, because auto-download is on. You can turn auto-download off in WhatsApp Settings > Data and Storage Usage.
WhatsApp says, in the FAQ section that, if a user doesn’t open WhatsApp passed or seven days, the message will disappear, and the preview of the message might still be displayed in notification until WhatsApp is open.
So, from now we should be expecting to see this new update go wide for users. Once the update comes, you’ll be able to download it through the Apple App Store and Google Play store.
Subscribe to our Daily Cast Newsletter to get the best stories that we write each day.