Seeing the “This story is no longer available” error message when you are trying to watch Instagram stories can be quite frustrating, especially if you do not know what it means.
In this article, you will learn the meaning of the error message “This story is no longer available” on Instagram.
What Does “This Story Is No Longer Available” Mean On Instagram?
There are several meanings behind the error message “This story is no longer available” when you click on a story to watch on Instagram. Here are some of the meanings:
If you see this error message on Instagram, then it means that the story you clicked on to watch has either been deleted by its user or has surpassed the twenty-four-hour mark.
Instagram stories last for twenty-four hours before they are automatically deleted by the server, but the user who posts them can take them down before that time.
If you clicked on the story right after the user deleted it or it was deleted by Instagram, all that will appear is a black screen with the error message “This story is no longer available”.
You’ve Been Blocked
Secondly, if an account has blocked you on Instagram, then whenever you watch their story, you should see the error message “This story is no longer available”.
Normally, if a user has you blocked on Instagram, you will not be able to view anything related to their account including their story.
But in the rare case that you do, then the error message will come up.
To check if you have been blocked by a user, search for their username on Instagram, if no results pop up, then you have been blocked.
Again, some stories violate Instagram’s community guidelines and codes of conduct.
Instagram’s community guidelines are a set of rules and protocols that are used to control the online behavior of users.
If a user’s story is flagged for containing nudity, violence, etc, then that story gets taken down.
Also, if multiple users come together to report a specific story, then Instagram takes it down and when you try to view it you will see the error message “This story is no longer available”.
Some stories may not violate community guidelines, but they are accidentally deleted by Instagram.
The error message, “This story is no longer available” on Instagram when you are trying to watch a story may mean that there is a technical glitch or a bug.
When there is a glitch on Instagram servers, features like story updates are affected, although there is nothing wrong.
How To Check If A User Has Blocked You On Instagram
Step 1: Open Instagram
Open the Instagram app on your mobile device and log in to your account by entering your username and password.
Step 2: Go To Search
Navigate the search menu and enter the username of the desired account. From the list of results, find their account. If you have been blocked, their account will not show up on the list of results.
Now, whenever you see the error message “This story is no longer available” on Instagram when you are trying to watch stories you know not to freak out.
All the meanings there are as to why you are seeing the error message have been detailed in this article.
FAQs On What Does “This Story Is No Longer Available” Mean On Instagram?
Whenever you see this error message when trying to view a story on Instagram, it mean that the story has been deleted.
The story may have been deleted by the user, it may have automatically been deleted because the 24-hour limit is over or Instagram took it down because it violated community guidelines.