What Does “Last Seen Recently” Mean In Telegram? (2-3 Days)

Timothy Iyekowa
Timothy Iyekowa - Writer & Editor
4 Min Read

If you use Telegram, you may be aware that it includes a last-seen functionality similar to that of WhatsApp.

The feature helps your contacts tell when you last use the app. You might be wondering what “Last Seen Recently” means and how it’s calculated.

In this article, you’ll know what “Last Seen Recently” means on Telegram. You’ll also learn how to hide the last seen status on the Telegram app.

ALSO READ: Telegram Not Sending Messages? 9 Ways To Fix The Problem (Solved)

What Does “Last Seen Recently” Mean On Telegram

You might have noticed that some of your contacts on Telegram have the status “Last seen recently” next to them.

The “Last seen recently” mean that the status shows that they have been last active on Telegram in the last 1 second or 2-3 days.

Every time a contact opens the app, the 72-hour clock is reset, so if they haven’t used Telegram in a few days, their status will change to “Last seen within a week”.

Those who have your phone number in their contacts list will automatically be able to see when you last used the app.

To prevent anyone from knowing when you were last active, you can disable this feature or adjust it so that only your contacts can see your “Last seen” status.

Telegram’s “Last seen recently” status simply indicates that a contact has been last active on the app over the last 1 second and 2-3 days.

ALSO READ: Telegram Calls Show Up On Phone Bill? (Answered)

How To Hide Last Seen Status On Telegram?

By adjusting your privacy settings in the app, you can decide who can view your own “Last seen” status.

Telegram by default notifies all of your contacts when you were last online.

However, there is a way to modify this setting so that only the people you choose can view your last seen status.

To hide your last seen status on Telegram, follow these steps:

Step 1: Open Telegram

Open Telegram and tap the three horizontal lines in the top-left corner of the Telegram app.

Step 2: Tap Settings

Tap on the Settings option from the list of available options and tap on Privacy and Security on the Settings page.

Step 3: Tap on Last Seen & Online

Tap on Last Seen & Online from the Privacy and Security menu and select “Nobody” from the list of people who can see the last time you were online.

Under Add exceptions, tap Never Share With and add the contacts you want.

Select the contact by tapping on the Never Share option if you want to keep a particular user from seeing your last seen and online status.

Conclusion

While Telegram’s “Last seen recently” can be a way to know when last a user uses the app. It may not be exactly useful as that WhatsApp.

If don’t want people to see the Last seen Status on your Telegram account, you can turn off the option in the settings menu.

Frequently Asked Questions

What does last seen recently mean?

The person was last online anywhere from a minute to about three days ago.

How can I get a notification when someone is online on Telegram?

Telegram doesn’t notify you when someone becomes online.

Share This Article
By Timothy Iyekowa Writer & Editor
Follow:
As a seasoned content writer with 4+ years of experience in consumer technology, Timothy has been a dedicated author and editor at Techvocast.com since its inception. Specializing in addressing user concerns, his articles offer effective solutions for Android, iOS, Windows, and Mac-related issues. Timothy's expertise also extends to crafting content about social media and various applications. Through his daily articles, he consistently aids users in overcoming their technology challenges.
Leave a comment
Techvocast