What A Deactivated Instagram Account Look Like? (Mobile & Web)

Timothy Iyekowa
Timothy Iyekowa - Writer & Editor
8 Min Read

You may have been searching for an account on Instagram only to learn that it has been deactivated.

If you have ever wondered what a deactivated Instagram account looks like, this article is for you.

Sometimes, Instagram users deactivate their Accounts, and you may want to know what that looks like.

In this article, you’ll learn what a deactivated Instagram account looks like, and discover everything there is to know about a deactivated Instagram account.

ALSO READ: How To See Who Viewed Instagram Highlights (See After 48 Hours)

What Does A Deactivated Account Look Like?

A deactivated Instagram account will say “Instagram User” on mobile and “Sorry, this page is not available” on computer/web.

Deactivated Instagram account for app

A deactivated Instagram account has been disabled. You can easily activate a deactivated account whenever you’d like. Deactivating an Instagram account is not a permanent action.

Deactivated Instagram account for web

Most people deactivate their accounts to take a social media break or a break from Instagram.

Deactivating their account is the best option since your follower counts, pictures you posted, and all your content remains the same and is not lost unlike what would happen if the Instagram account was deleted.

A deactivated Instagram account has some features which show that an account has been deactivated.

Usually, for a deactivated Instagram account, your profile is hidden from other people.

This means your pictures, reels, comments, and likes remain hidden until the account is reactivated.

When people search for you, your account will not be seen in the search results. You will not be able to be identified.

Your follower count will remain the same, and no one will be able to follow or unfollow you until the account is reactivated.

Deactivating your account can only be done using a computer, a mobile browser, or the Instagram app for iPhone users.

Keep in mind that deactivating your Instagram account can be done only once a week.

If you don’t want to deactivate your account, you could either delete the account, set your account to private, or block some people.

ALSO READ: What Does “SMT” Mean on Instagram? (See Different Meaning)

How Do I Know Someone Has Deactivated Their Instagram Account?

To know if someone has deactivated their Instagram account, there are a few things you can take note of.

Firstly, you can go to their profile on the Instagram app a web browser. When you do this, and you see the message “Instagram User” or “Sorry, this page is not available,” it implies that their account has been deactivated.

Another way to know that their account has been deactivated is if you check their DM.

You can try sending them a direct message on Instagram. If you see the Instagram User instead of the account name, it means they’ve deactivated their account.

Again, you might think you have been blocked when you search for the account, and it cannot be found, so you can ask a friend to search for that person’s profile.

If they also cannot find it, it means the person has deactivated their account.

If you tagged them in your photos, you can check if they are still tagged. If they aren’t still tagged in the photos, their account has been deactivated.

You could also check for their likes and comments and any other activity on their profile.

To see if someone has deactivated their account, you’ll have to go to their profile. Go to your web browser and type “https://www.instagram.com/username“. When you do this you’ll be able to see what’s left.

You can even tap on their profile from the Instagram app or username if you have messaged them before or tagged them. And you will see “Instagram User” on mobile phone on their profiles or “Sorry, this page is not available” on your computer/web.

ALSO READ: How To See Someone’s Close Friends On Instagram (See This First)

How Can I Deactivate My Instagram Account?

If you need to deactivate your Instagram account for one reason or another, these are the steps to do so.

You can only deactivate your account using a computer, a mobile browser, or the Instagram app for iPhone.

Step 1: Log Into Instagram

Log into your Instagram account using a computer, a mobile browser, or the Instagram app for iPhone.

Step 2: Click On Your Profile

Click on your Profile picture at the top if you’re using a computer, or the bottom right corner for mobile, then click on Edit Profile.

Step 3: Click On Temporarily Deactivate Account

Under Edit profile, scroll down and click on the Temporarily Deactivate Account option at the bottom

Step 4: Select A Reason Why You Are Deactivating Your Account

From the drop-down menu, choose a reason you are deactivating your account.

Step 5: Enter Your Password

Re-enter your Instagram password. The option to deactivate your account will then appear.

Step 6: Deactivate Your Account

Click on Temporarily deactivate account, and click Yes to confirm your decision.

Conclusion

A deactivated account has no followers, and no pictures or reels. Usually, when you search for the person’s account, you see a message that says “Sorry this page is not available.”

To know what a deactivated Instagram Account looks like, read this article, which details what it looks like and how to deactivate your Instagram account.

ALSO READ: Can You Add A Picture To An Instagram Post? (See What To Do)

Frequently Asked Questions

What’s Difference Between A Deactivated Instagram Account And A Deleted Instagram Account?

A deactivated Account still has its follower count and posts, just that they are hidden whereas a deleted account loses all its posts and followers. Also, deactivating your account is a temporary action whereas deleting it is a permanent one.

How long Can I keep my Instagram Account deactivated?

Instagram has no specific restrictions on how long your account stays deactivated, so you can keep it deactivated as long as you’d like.

Do My Messages Disappear When I Deactivate My Instagram Account?

Your old messages remain intact, just that you will not be able to send or receive direct messages.

Share This Article
By Timothy Iyekowa Writer & Editor
Follow:
As a seasoned content writer with 4+ years of experience in consumer technology, Timothy has been a dedicated author and editor at Techvocast.com since its inception. Specializing in addressing user concerns, his articles offer effective solutions for Android, iOS, Windows, and Mac-related issues. Timothy's expertise also extends to crafting content about social media and various applications. Through his daily articles, he consistently aids users in overcoming their technology challenges.
Leave a comment
Techvocast