How To Join A Private Story On Snapchat (You Need To Know This)

Timothy Iyekowa
Timothy Iyekowa - Writer & Editor
7 Min Read

Snapchat is a popular messaging app with more than 100 million active users, it’s perfect for sending quick photos and videos to friends. But what about sharing secrets?

There’s a feature on Snapchat called “Private Stories.” These stories are only visible to the people added. They’re perfect for keeping things between you and your friends.

In this article, you’ll learn how to join a private story on Snapchat. Aside from that, you will also learn how you can create and delete your Private Story. 

ALSO READ: What Does “DWS” mean on Snapchat? (See Different Meaning)

Can I Join A Private Story On Snapchat?

Yes, you can join a Private Story on Snapchat. The person who created Private Story will need to add you as a friend and invite you to view the Story.

You will then be able to view the Story along with other people who have been invited. 

People can’t join private story if the Creator didn’t invite them, it’s not possible. There’s no way it’s going to happen.

A private story is private, which means you’re the only one allowed as “admin” to invite a user to a “Private Story”.

If it’s not this, then you’ll not be able to join any private story on Snapchat. You’ll need an invite from the creator of the Private story.

ALSO READ: What Does “YK” mean on Snapchat? (See Different Meaning)

How Do I Join A Snapchat “Private Story”?

There is a difference between joining a Snapchat Custom Story and joining a Private Story on Snapchat. 

You need to note that you can only join a Private Story on Snapchat by getting an invite.

You can join Private Story if you get an invite from the person that created the Story Only.

If you don’t get an invite, you’ll not be able to join. The Custom Story is not a Private Story, they’re two different Stories and you can tell from the name.

So Private only mean the people added, if the person don’t add you, you’ll not be able to see the private story.

This is the only way you can use to join Private Story on Snapchat. A Custom Story is not a private story.

ALSO READ: What Does “WTW” Mean On Snapchat? (See Different Meaning)

What If I Don’t Want To See Someone’s Private Story?

You leave, simple! Often, you see Private stories of people you don’t want to see. Not that you hate them, but may they don’t post what interests you. All you need to do is to leave. 

Yes, you can quickly leave a Private Story whenever it appears on your profile or if you are joined to the one you do not wish to be a part of. 

Like there are steps to follow if you want to create or join a Private Story on Snapchat, there are also ways you can leave a Snapchat Private Story if you want. 

Remember that you won’t be able to access or watch any of the following private tales once you leave a person’s, Private Story.

To get started:

Step 1: Open Snapchat

Launch the Snapchat app on your device, then swipe left from the camera screen to access Snapchat’s Stories area. 

Step 2: Search For The Person

Use the search box to look up the person’s name if you can’t discover their Private narrative.

If you can, great. If not, move on to the next step. Once you notice the lock icon next to it, you’ll know if it’s a Private Story.

Step 3: Tap On Private Story

Next, tap on that specific Private Story and hold it for a short period till your device presents you with a menu of options.

Step 4: Leave The Story

Choose the ‘Leave Story‘ option from the list of alternatives, then tap Done to confirm. You’ll discover that the story is no longer visible on your profile.

ALSO READ: Why Did Snapchat Delete My Account? (See What To Do)

What If I Couldn’t Leave The Private Story? 

Something must be fixed if the Private Story Snapchat leave process does not work.

It’s either you need a more robust network, or you need an updated version of the Snapchat app. Aside from these two reasons, another reason could be that the user has removed you. 

Conclusion

Joining a Private Story on Snapchat is easy, but you can only get access if you’ve been invited by the Private Story creator. If you’re invited, you’ll not be able to join.

Most of the guides you see explaining online explaining how to join private stories are wrong.

A private story is not a custom story, it’s private. This means only the people added will be able to see the content posted.

So to get an invite the person needs to know you and add you to Private Story so you can see what they’re sharing.

ALSO READ: What Does “GC” Mean on Snapchat? (See Different Meaning)

Frequently Asked Questions

Is It Possible To Join A Private Snapchat Story?

Yes, it’s possible to join a Private story on Snapchat if the person that created the story invites you to join. Apart from this way, there’s no way you can a private story because it’s private.

How Do I Join A Private Snapchat Story?

To join a private Snapchat story, you will need to be friends with the person who created the Story, and they will need to invite you to view it.

What Happens When You Join A Private Story? 

When you join a private story, you are granted access to view a story that has been shared privately by the creator. 

How Long Will My Private Story Stay Before Disappearing?

Private stories stay 24 hours before disappearing. 

Share This Article
By Timothy Iyekowa Writer & Editor
Follow:
As a seasoned content writer with 4+ years of experience in consumer technology, Timothy has been a dedicated author and editor at Techvocast.com since its inception. Specializing in addressing user concerns, his articles offer effective solutions for Android, iOS, Windows, and Mac-related issues. Timothy's expertise also extends to crafting content about social media and various applications. Through his daily articles, he consistently aids users in overcoming their technology challenges.
Leave a comment
Techvocast