How To Delete Whatsapp Account On iPhone And Android

Timothy Iyekowa
Timothy Iyekowa - Writer & Editor
5 Min Read
WhatsApp

WhatsApp is one of the most encrypted messaging apps in the world, and most of your contact is already using the app, so why would anyone want to get their account deleted. Well, maybe it’s their privacy decision. But leaving WhatsApp isn’t going to be easy. If you want to know how to delete your WhatsApp account follow this guide to the end.

The process for deleting a WhatsApp account is easy and you can quickly achieve that in less than 2 min. If you haven’t accepted the new WhatsApp terms yet, or you already did, but want to delete your WhatsApp account, you can do so from your WhatsApp settings.

The new WhatsApp privacy says that data such as your mobile number, phone model, etc will be shared with Facebook, but your messages will remain encrypted. Your messages won’t be shared or read by Facebook, and its parent company, Meta.

On a move last year, Facebook uploaded a status update on WhatsApp telling everyone that they can’t see your messages because they’re encrypted. And it is the same protocol that Signal Messenger uses to encrypt its messages that everyone loves.

The new privacy for WhatsApp made headlines last year, and many users switch over to Signal and Telegram Messenger. The download of these apps skyrocketed when WhatsApp required that users should accept the new privacy.

If you don’t want to use the messaging app anymore you can check out some WhatsApp alternatives. Using WhatsApp gives you lots of features, but if you don’t want here’s how to delete your WhatsApp account. If you don’t want to share data with Facebook, you should delete your WhatsApp account right now. 

Note: Deleting your WhatsApp account is irreversible, and this will also erase your message history, WhatsApp groups, and your Google Drive backup.

Read Also

How to delete your WhatsApp account on iPhone and Android

Deleting your WhatsApp account will take up to 90 days for WhatsApp to delete your data. They may retain certain log data in their databases even after you delete your account. And finally, your information shared with other Facebook companies will also be deleted.

1. Open WhatsApp on your Android and click on the three-dot (more option) at the right top corner of your WhatsApp screen, then tap Setting. While on your iPhone click on Settings at the right bottom corner of your screen.

2. In the Settings menu, click on Account, at the bottom click on Delete my account.

3. To delete your account, confirm your country code, enter your phone number, and click on DELETE MY ACCOUNT. Select the reason for why you’re deleting your account in the dropdown and tap on DELETE MY ACCOUNT again.

How to delete a WhatsApp account

Once you delete your WhatsApp account, you won’t be able to recover your messages, all your messages will be erased, and you’ll be removed from all groups. Before you delete your account, you can backup your WhatsApp chats to Drive if you have a Google Account.

Read Also

There are messaging apps that care about your privacy: Signal and Telegram (if secret chat is enabled), these WhatsApp alternatives let you do as much as WhatsApp allows you to do, just that most don’t come with the daily status feature.

If you don’t want to delete your WhatsApp account, you can change your phone number. With all the trouble and misconception happening, you just have to stay close and see what happens next.

Share This Article
By Timothy Iyekowa Writer & Editor
Follow:
As a seasoned content writer with 4+ years of experience in consumer technology, Timothy has been a dedicated author and editor at Techvocast.com since its inception. Specializing in addressing user concerns, his articles offer effective solutions for Android, iOS, Windows, and Mac-related issues. Timothy's expertise also extends to crafting content about social media and various applications. Through his daily articles, he consistently aids users in overcoming their technology challenges.
Leave a comment
Techvocast