How To Delete Instagram Messages 2023 (For EVERYONE)

Timothy Iyekowa
Timothy Iyekowa - Writer & Editor
7 Min Read

Did you just mistakenly send the wrong message, with this guide we’ll show you how to delete your Instagram messages, for both you and the receiver.

You can delete all your Instagram conversations, or unsend a message you sent as a mistake. The message will be removed from both of you.

If you delete your Instagram conversation, the other person will still be able to see the message, if you don’t want them to see it, you’ll have to unsend the message.

In this article, you’ll learn how to delete Instagram messages. This guide contains message deletion for both you and the recipient or every DM you’ve had.

ALSO READ: How To See Recent Followers On Instagram

How To Delete Your Instagram Messages

Since Instagram introduces DMs, it is a wide chase for people that keep sending the wrong message.

Now, you can delete a conversation or unsend a message you didn’t intend to send to the person. Here is a step-by-step guide.

Deleting Entire Message Conversations

You can now delete an entire conversation on Instagram DM. Previously this feature wasn’t available.

All you have to do is select the conversation you want to delete and tap on Delete at the bottom right corner of your screen. You can also select as many conversations as you want to delete.

To delete a conversation on Instagram DM > Open Instagram > Tap the Airplane icon [message icon] > Tap and hold any conversation > Select other conversation you want to Delete > Tap Delete at the bottom right corner.

Step 1: Open Instagram

Open the Instagram app on your iOS or Android device, and tap on the Airplane icon [Messenger icon] at the top right corner of your screen.

Step 2: Select Conversation

You’ll see all the conversations that you’ve had on Instagram. Tap the three dots at the top right corner and Select Chats.

Select all the conversations you want to delete, then tap on DELETE at the bottom right corner.

Deleting a conversation doesn’t delete the message you’ve sent, the other person will still be able to see all the conversations you’ve had.

If you want to delete the message, you’ll have to unsend each message before you delete the conversation.

ALSO READ: How To Recover Deleted Instagram Messages

Delete Messages From Both Sides

You can easily delete Instagram messages for both you and the receiver, this will allow you unsend any messages even if it has been a week.

Once you unsend a message on Instagram, it’ll remove the message for both of you, but the person may have already seen it.

To unsend Instagram message > To delete a conversation on Instagram DM > Open Instagram > Tap the Airplane icon [message icon] > Open a conversation > Tap and hold any message > Tap Unsend.

Step 1: Open Instagram

Open the Instagram app on your iOS or Android device, and tap on the Airplane icon at the top right corner of your screen.

Step 2: Open A Conversation

From the Instagram DM, open a conversation that you want to unsend the message for.

Step 3: Unsend The Message

Find the message you want to delete and press and hold the message that you want to unsend.

From the small pop-up menu, tap Unsend message or Unsend and confirm that you want to delete the message.

ALSO READ: Why Instagram Say “User Not Found” For Account? (SEE The Reasons)

Conclusion

If you’re looking for how to delete an Instagram message for you and the receiver you’ll be able to do so by just unsending it.

You can also delete a conversation or select every conversation that you want to delete on the app.

Once you unsend your Instagram messages, they’ll be deleted for both you and the receiver. And you’ll not be able to get the deleted message back, ever.

If you delete your Instagram conversation, the users will still be able to see the message on their end. This is because you didn’t unsend the message.

Even when you block the person or you’ve deleted your Instagram account, they’ll still see the message.

If you don’t want them to see the DM, you’ll have to unsend each message you send to the person.

ALSO READ: We Limit How Often You Can Do Certain On Instagram? 5 Easy Fix 2022

Frequently Asked Questions

How do I delete multiple messages on Instagram?

You can’t delete multiple messages on Instagram at once, you can only delete the full conversation you’ve had. If you want to delete multiple messages, you’ll have to do it one at a time by unsending them.

What happened when you unsend an Instagram message?

If you unsend an Instagram message on any conversation you have had, it’ll delete the message for the person and you. They’ll not be able to see the message again.

Does deleting an Instagram account delete DMS?

No, deleting your Instagram account doesn’t automatically delete the message you have sent to people. The message will still be available, but they’ll not be able to message you again. All the conversations you had with still be there.

Does blocking someone on Instagram delete all messages?

No, blocking a user on Instagram doesn’t delete all the messages you’ve exchanged with them. All the messages will still be available to them and they’ll be able to see all the conversations. You can only stop them from seeing the message if you unsend it.

Share This Article
By Timothy Iyekowa Writer & Editor
Follow:
As a seasoned content writer with 4+ years of experience in consumer technology, Timothy has been a dedicated author and editor at Techvocast.com since its inception. Specializing in addressing user concerns, his articles offer effective solutions for Android, iOS, Windows, and Mac-related issues. Timothy's expertise also extends to crafting content about social media and various applications. Through his daily articles, he consistently aids users in overcoming their technology challenges.
Leave a comment
Techvocast