How To Delete A Story On TikTok 2023 (The Easiest Way)

Timothy Iyekowa
Timothy Iyekowa - Writer & Editor
11 Min Read

If you post a TikTok story, and you think it was a mistake, you might want to delete it because the story doesn’t show what you intend it to. You can delete a TikTok story using the easiest way possible, even though you have posted the story for over 12 hours or just recently, you can still delete it.

The feature was introduced earlier this year, and also lets users (everyone) view and delete stories. Like every other social media network, TikTok doesn’t restrict users on what they want to delete on their TikTok stories.

To delete TikTok Stories, go to your profile page, and tap on your profile photo. On your story, tap the three-dot at the bottom left corner of your screen, and click on Delete to remove the story. More to know below

So if you want to know how to delete a TikTok story after you have accidentally posted the wrong one, we got you. In this guide, you will learn how to delete a story on TikTok. A step-by-step guide with images.

ALSO READ: Why TikTok Videos Not Getting Views? And How To Fix It

How To Delete A TikTok Story

Deleting a story from TikTok app is easy if you follow the step-by-step guide.

If you mistakenly post a video that you are not supposed to upload to your TikTok story you can remove it within a minute or hours when you notice it.

To delete a story on TikTok, open the TikTok app on your Android or iPhone, it’s the same navigation for both devices.

Tap on the Profile tab at the bottom right corner of your screen.

On the next page (Profile page), tap on your profile picture at the center of the screen.

Once you tap on your profile picture you will see the story you have uploaded.

If you have uploaded more than one you can swipe to the left to move to the next story.

On the story, you will see a three-dot horizontal icon at the right bottom of the screen.

Tap on it and click on the Delete option on the pop-up display menu at the bottom

Tap on Delete again from the pop-up to confirm that you want to delete the story.

Once you tap on it, the story will be removed from your TikTok stories. You will not be able to retrieve it after you have deleted the story.

Refresh the story page just to make sure the story is deleted from your TikTok account, you can then post the one you intended to upload.

Make sure you crosscheck the story you are uploading to make sure it’s the right video.

And you can always record with the TikTok Story camera if you are just sharing your day.

A Quick Guide: Open the TikTok app on your phone > Tap on the Profile tab at the bottom right corner > Tap on your Profile Picture > On the story page, tap on the three horizontal dots at the bottom right > Tap Delete from the Pop-up menu > Tap Delete again to confirm you are deleting the story.

ALSO READ: How To See Duets On TikTok (The Easiest Way)

Conclusion

To delete a TikTok story is easy. If you have posted something that you shouldn’t have, you can delete the story by using the three horizontal dots at the bottom right.

This will allow you to remove the story from your account.

Before you post any story to your TikTok account, make sure that you are posting the right one.

You can record the video from the TikTok app and edit it before posting the video.

Frequently Asked Questions

How do I view TikTok stories?

Watching stories on TikTok is different from other social media. To watch other people’s stories you will have to go to their profile page and tap on their profile picture to see their story. No tab displays all the stories on TikTok like Instagram and Facebook.

How do I reply to a comment made on my TikTok story?

To reply to comments on your TikTok story is easy. If you get a comment on one of your stories, you will see it in the Inbox section, Under Activities. Tap on the comments and then you can reply.

Why can’t I see TikTok Stories?

If you can’t see Stories it means that your app is outdated, you have a bad internet connection or the story had been deleted. You can try updating the app to get it working and check fast.com if your internet connection is working.

How do you add a story on TikTok?

To add a story to TikTok is easy, if you have been using Stories on other social apps like Facebook and Instagram, you will how it works. Go to your Profile page on TikTok, then tap on the profile picture to add a story.

You can also tap on the “+” tab in the center of the app. Record your story or upload it directly from your camera roll. You can also add a story from the inbox section at the top.

Do TikTok stories go away?

Yes, TikTok Stories disappear after 24 hours, it is the same time frame as that of Facebook, WhatsApp, Instagram, and Snapchat.

Is TikTok Story Similar to Instagram Story?

TikTok stories are very similar to that of Instagram Story, if not the same. Stories stay for 24 hours, and you can post directly from the app or upload a video you have created. You can also edit the video you have recorded for both apps.

Can I see who viewed my TikTok story?

No, you cannot see who has viewed your story on TikTok. TikTok doesn’t have a feature that allows creators to see who has viewed the story.

ALSO READ: How To See Comment History On Tiktok (Multiple Ways)

How long does a story stay on TikTok?

Stories on TikTok do not spend more than 24 hours just ad Snapchat, Facebook, Instagram, and WhatsApp. The story is available for whatever you are sharing that day, and once the 24 hours cycle is complete, the story will disappear.

Can I change the audience settings of my TikTok stories?

Yes, you cannot change the audience settings of your TikTok stories. You can change the audience settings before you post the story or after you have posted the story. Before you post the story, you will see Privacy settings on the right side, and you can choose between Everyone, Friends (Followers and Followed you back), or Only Me.

You can also change the audience settings when the story is already posted by tapping on the three horizontal dots at the bottom right, tapping on Privacy settings, and then clicking Who can watch this video, and selecting between Everyone, Friends (Followers and Followed you back), Only Me.

How many stories I can upload on TikTok in a day?

Posting too many stories isn’t an issue, you can post plenty of numbers, but how can you post stories to not let TikTok shadowbanned you? This isn’t WhatsApp, on TikTok, users get shadowbanned for doing certain things so many times.

Who can see my TikTok Stories?

Everyone can see your TikTok stories. Even the people that don’t follow you can see your TikTok stories. All there have to do is search for your account and tap on your profile picture to view your story.

Can I still retrieve a story I’ve deleted on the TikTok app?

No, once you have deleted a story on TikTok you will not be able to retrieve it. No feature or app can let you do this. If you have the story saved on your device before deleting it then you can have it back. Apart from that, there is no way for you to retrieve a deleted TikTok story.

How do you delete stories on TikTok?

Open the TikTok app on your phone > Tap on the Profile tab at the bottom right corner > Tap on your Profile Picture > On the story page, tap on the three horizontal dots at the bottom right > Tap Delete from the Pop-up menu > Tap Delete again to confirm you are deleting the story.

Where are deleted stories on TikTok?

Once you delete a story on TikTok it’s gone. The photo or video you have deleted isn’t stored anywhere for you to get back to. There is no recycle bin on this part.

Share This Article
By Timothy Iyekowa Writer & Editor
Follow:
As a seasoned content writer with 4+ years of experience in consumer technology, Timothy has been a dedicated author and editor at Techvocast.com since its inception. Specializing in addressing user concerns, his articles offer effective solutions for Android, iOS, Windows, and Mac-related issues. Timothy's expertise also extends to crafting content about social media and various applications. Through his daily articles, he consistently aids users in overcoming their technology challenges.
Leave a comment
Techvocast