Have you realized that your friends on Facebook have been deleted from your friends list? Are you wondering why you are not able to see some friends on your friends list anymore?
Facebook deleting friends is an issue that several Facebook users have complained about, and it’s becoming a big problem on the social media app.
It is sometimes very worrying because you search for a friend on Facebook and you no longer see them in your friend list. If that happens, you may think as a Facebook user that Facebook is deleting your friends.
In this article, you are going to learn why Facebook is deleting friends. You’ll also learn how to fix Facebook deleting friends on the app.
ALSO READ: What Does Facebook Black Profile Mean?
Does Facebook Delete Friends?
No, Facebook does not delete your friends on the app. Facebook does not add or remove friends from your friends’ list.
Therefore, if you are not able to see your friends in your friends list anymore, it may be that you have unintentionally deleted or removed your friend or your friend has blocked you.
It may also be that your account has been compromised and your friends have been removed from your friend list.
Facebook does not have access to your account and does not delete friends from your friends’ list. So, if this is happening, your account may have been hacked.
Why Is Facebook Deleting My Friends?
As stated earlier, Facebook does not delete your friends on the app, but we are going to show you why you think Facebook is deleting your friends on the app.
1. Unintentionally Remove Friend
You may have unintentionally removed or unfriended your friend on Facebook. Sometimes you unfriend someone on Facebook in the course of removing other friends, and you may have unintentionally removed a friend you do not know.
2. The Friend Unfriend You
Also, it may be that they have removed you or unfriended you on the app and you were not noticed but notified by Facebook.
3. Blocked By The Friend
Aside from being unfriended by the friend, you may have been blocked by your friend and you do not know it.
4. Account Compromise
Your account may have been hacked. If you realize there is a sudden change in certain information on your Facebook account, you should know that your account has been compromised or has been hacked by an unknown user.
If this happens, the hacker has removed or unfriended your Facebook friends, but when you log into your Facebook account, you may realize that the friends you used to follow do not follow you anymore.
5. Friend Delete Facebook Account
Also, you may think Facebook is deleting your friends because your friend’s account may have been deleted. Saying goodbye to Facebook for good.
When the account of your friend is deleted on Facebook you’ll no longer see the friend in your friend list.
Therefore when you search for your friend on Facebook, you may no longer find that friend on the app. If this happens, you may think that Facebook has deleted your friends.
6. Facebook Glitch
Again, you may not be able to see your friends and you think Facebook has deleted your friends because there may be a glitch in your Facebook app. Glitches in your Facebook app will not allow you to work as you expect.
Therefore you may be able to log into the app but in the course of using the app, and it starts to misbehave in the course you may not see your friends on Facebook in that period.
7. Friend Is Suspended
Your friend’s account may have been suspended by Facebook. Facebook suspends your account usually when you breach Facebook‘s terms and conditions.
Violating Facebook’s terms and conditions may result in the suspension of the account.
If care is not taken, your friend who has violated the community guidelines of Facebook may have his or her account permanently deleted.
8. Friend Deactivated Account
Your friend may have deactivated his account. When your friend deactivates his account, he will no longer be known or seen on the Facebook app for some time until the account is reactivated.
Therefore, you should know that if your account does not see that friend on Facebook anymore, the friend may have deactivated his or her Facebook account.
How To Fix Facebook Deleting Friends
Facebook doesn’t delete your friends from your list, however, they’re reasons you may not be seeing these friends on your list. Here’s what to do to see your friends again.
Fix 1: Check If Facebook Had Deleted Or Suspended Your Friend’s Account
When an account has been deleted from Facebook. You will no longer see the account in the search section on Facebook. You’ll also not see the friend in your friend list.
If that happens, it means your friend’s account has been deleted from the app and his or her name will no longer appear on Facebook.
Follow the simple guidelines to check if your friend’s account has been deleted from Facebook.
Go to Facebook on your Android or iOS device > Tap the search button > insert the name of the friend > Search.
Fix 2: Change Your Password On Facebook
If you realize that your Facebook account has been compromised and that is why you think Facebook is deleting your friends, then you should change your Facebook account password.
This will allow you to have total control of your accounts and stop the other user from deleting your friends. Use very simple guidelines to change your password on Facebook.
Open Facebook on your Android or iOS device > Tap the top right of Facebook > Settings & Privacy > Settings > Tap Password and security > Tap Change password > Insert current and new password > Save Changes.
Alternatively, after changing the password on your Facebook app, you can perform the two-step authentication process to properly secure your Facebook account.
You can follow the guidelines to enable Two-Factor authentication on your Facebook account.
Go to Facebook on your Android or iPhone > Tap in the top right of Facebook > Settings > Password and Security > Use two-factor authentication > Select security method > Follow the on-screen instructions.
Fix 3: Re-Add Your Friends To Your Facebook Friends List
It may be that you unintentionally deleted or removed the friends from your friends’ list. Therefore you should search for your friends to add them back again.
You can do this by using the Facebook search button to search for your friends and find them again and if it is a private account request to be a friend to be added.
Fix 4: Check If The Friend Has Blocked You
If the friend has blocked you on Facebook, you’ll no longer see that friend in your Facebook friend list.
If that happens, you may think Facebook is deleting your friends. You should check and know if your friend has blocked you.
If you have been blocked, you’ll no longer see the friend’s account when you search for it on Facebook but on other accounts, you’ll see the account.
Use the guideline to check if you have been blocked by a friend on Facebook. Use both your account and another Facebook account when doing this, so that you’ll know if you’ve been blocked or not.
Go to Facebook on your Android or iOS device > Tap the search button > Insert the name of the friend > Search.
ALSO READ: How To Add An Admin To A Facebook Page
Fix 5: Clear App Cache
It may be as a result of the app cache on your Facebook app that you are not able to see your friends anymore.
Mostly, if this happens, the Facebook app misbehaves and you may think Facebook has deleted your friends. You can clear the Facebook app cache using simple guidelines.
For Android: Open Facebook > Go to Settings > Storage > Apps > Facebook > Clear Cache.
For iPhone: Open Facebook > Go to Settings > General > Facebook > Offload App.
If you have found out that Facebook is deleting your friends and you are wondering why? You should know that Facebook does not delete friends.
It could be that your account may have been compromised. Also, you may have unintentionally removed the friends on the app.
We have provided fixes and simple guidelines to aid you to fix Facebook deleting friends on your Android or iPhone.
Frequently asked questions
How To Delete Friends On Facebook Quickly
Go to Facebook > Tap at the top of Facebook > Profile > Search bar > Tap on Friend > Unfriend > OK.
How To Delete Friends On Facebook Without Them Knowing?
Facebook does not notify you when you unfriend someone on Facebook.