Does Snapchat Notify When You Block Someone? (Answered)

Timothy Iyekowa
By Timothy Iyekowa - Writer & Editor
6 Min Read

If you want to know whether Snapchat sends notifications when you block someone, you have come to the right place.

One solution to prevent people from sending you inappropriate snaps, or disturbing you on Snapchat is to block them.

But you may be wondering if Snapchat would inform the person that they have been blocked.

In this article, you’ll learn whether Snapchat notifies the person that you’ve blocked them. You’ll also know what happens when you block someone on Snapchat.

ALSO READ: How To Get Yellow Heart On Snapchat (Yellow Heart Emoji)

Does Snapchat Notify When I Block Someone?

Snapchat does not notify a person you’ve blocked. This is a privacy feature offered by Snapchat to protect the identity of whoever is blocking someone.

The person you have blocked would not know that they have been blocked, and Snapchat will not send them any message informing them as well.

However, blocking them will not undo any snaps you have sent.

Blocking someone on Snapchat means losing all contact and interaction with that person on the app. You also may lose any prior Snapstreak you had.

ALSO READ: How To Search Snapchat By Phone Number (From All Contacts)

What Happens When I Block Someone?

There are a few things that happen when you block someone on Snapchat.

Stop Receiving Snaps

First off, you will stop receiving snaps from them on Snapchat. They may be able to send you messages, but you would not be receiving them.

Interestingly, when a snap is sent to you from this blocked individual, it would show as delivered for the person but will not be received from your end.

This creates the impression that they have not been blocked when they have.

Remove From Friends List

When you block someone, Snapchat automatically unfriends that person from your friend list, so they will not be able to add you back even if you unblock them.

If you want to be their friend, you need to add them on Snapchat again.

Chat Still Intact

Another thing that happens is their chats with you won’t be deleted but from their end, the chats would remain intact.

The blocked person will still have all previous interactions you’ve had with them intact on their end.

No Screenshot Notification

Again, when you block someone on Snapchat, you would not know if they took a screenshot of one of your chats.

Since the chats on their end remain intact, they can take screenshots and you would have no idea.

You may try to unblock them and add them back, but you will not still be able to know if they took a screenshot of your chats.

Unable To Unsend Snap

Lastly, when you block someone on Snapchat, you will not be able to unsend any snaps once they have been sent.

Snaps are saved on cloud servers and are sent there once you hit the Send button; hence they cannot be unsent.

ALSO READ: What Does “SN” Mean On Snapchat? (See The Meaning)

How To Block Someone on Snapchat

To block someone on Snapchat:

Open the Snapchat App on your phone > Tap on your Bitmoji > Tap My Friends > Find the person you wish to block > Tap and hold the name > Tap on Manage Friendship > Select the Block option to block the person

How To Unblock Someone on Snapchat

To unblock someone on Snapchat:

Open the Snapchat App on your phone > Tap on your Bitmoji > Tap Settings at the top right > Scroll down and select the Blocked option > Tap on the X icon next to the person you want to unblock. Doing this unblocks that person.

ALSO READ: What Does “YH” Mean On Snapchat? (See The Meaning)

Alternatives To Blocking Someone on Snapchat

  • Mute the Person, so they don’t disturb you with their messages
  • Change your Privacy options to your friends, so only your friends view your content
  • Silence their messages so that when notifications come in you are not disturbed.

Conclusion

Blocking someone on Snapchat means halting all interactions between the two of you.

If you blocked someone on Snapchat, the person won’t receive any notification on Snapchat that you have blocked them.

This article has detailed all the information you need to know if Snapchat would inform someone you have blocked.

And also contains everything that happens when you block someone on Snapchat.

ALSO READ: How To Get Snapchat Phantom (See More Extra Features)

Frequently Asked Questions

Can you block anyone on Snapchat?

Yes, you can block them whether or not the person is on your contact list.

What is the difference between blocking someone and removing someone on Snapchat?

When you remove someone, they may be able to see your profile and add you back, but when you block someone on Snapchat, they will not be able to add you back or view your profile.

Can you unsend a snap after blocking someone?

No. Once a snap is sent, it is sent to the servers meaning you have no way to unsend it.

Share This Article
By Timothy Iyekowa Writer & Editor
Follow:
As a seasoned content writer with 4+ years of experience in consumer technology, Timothy has been a dedicated author and editor at Techvocast.com since its inception. Specializing in addressing user concerns, his articles offer effective solutions for Android, iOS, Windows, and Mac-related issues. Timothy's expertise also extends to crafting content about social media and various applications. Through his daily articles, he consistently aids users in overcoming their technology challenges.
Leave a comment
Techvocast