How To Delete Snapchat Messages & Chat 2023 (Step-By-Step Guide)

Timothy Iyekowa
Timothy Iyekowa - Writer & Editor
9 Min Read

Snapchat deletes your message on the app once the person has seen the message or after 24 hours. But what if the recipient saved the message, and you want to delete it?

The messaging feature on Snapchat is so private that as soon as the person reads the message, it gets deleted. If you send a message by mistake, you can easily delete it.

You’ll be able to delete saved messages and also clear chat conversations on Snapchat. But you’ll need to be the one that sent the message to be able to delete it.

In this article, you’ll learn how to delete Snapchat messages on your account. You’ll be able to delete saved messages and clear chat conversations on the app.

ALSO READ: How To Hide Snap Score On Snapchat

How To Delete Messages On Snapchat

If you want to delete Snapchat messages because of an error you made when typing, because you don’t want to send it again, or you just want to remove the message, here’s how to do it.

Step 1: Open Snapchat

Open the Snapchat app on your iOS or Android phone, then swipe right from left to open your Chat section.

Step 2: Open Conversation

From the Chat section, you’ll see the different conversations you’ve had with your friends and people that are not friends.

Open the conversation where the message you want to delete is in. Find the message from the chat.

Step 3: Delete The Message

Once you’ve opened a conversation, find the message you want to delete, then tap and hold on to it. You’ll see a pop-up, which contains the different options.

Tap on Delete from the option and you’ll see a message about “What is Delete Chat?” Tap Okay, and from the next prompt tap on Delete.

When you tap on Delete, the message you’ve selected will be deleted. You’ll not be able to delete the entire message in the chat at once.

You’ll need to do that one at a time. Once you delete the message, it’ll also be removed from the other user’s conversation.

ALSO READ: How To Unblock Someone On Snapchat

How To Delete Saved Messages On Snapchat

If you want to delete your saved messages, you’ll have to unsave them first before deleting them.

Step 1: Open Snapchat

Open the Snapchat app on your iOS or Android phone, then swipe right from left to open your Chat section.

Step 2: Open Conversation

From the Chat section, you’ll see the different conversations you’ve had with your friends and people that are not friends.

Open the conversation where the saved message you want to delete is in. Find the saved message from the chat.

Step 3: Delete Saved Message

Once you’ve opened a conversation, find the saved message you want to delete, then tap and hold on to it. You’ll see a pop-up, which contains the different options.

Tap on Unsave from the option from the pop-up and the message will be unsaved. You can now delete the message.

You can also unsave the message by just tapping on it. The saved message has a grey background, to unsave it tap on the message and the background will turn white.

Then you can delete the message and it’ll be removed from the other person’s chat. They’ll not be able to see the message again. You can only do this if you’re the one that sent the message.

ALSO READ: What Does “Other Snapchatters” Mean on Snapchat?

How To Clear Chats Conversation On Snapchat

To clear a Chat from the Chat screen > Tap on your Bitmoji > Tap the Gear icon to open Settings > Scroll down and tap “Clear Conversations” > Tap the “X” Icon next to a name to clear a conversation.

Step 1: Open Snapchat

Open the Snapchat app on your iOS or Android phone. Then tap on your Bitmoji at the top left corner of your screen.

Step 2: Tap Settings

From your profile page, tap on Settings [gear icon] at the top right corner to open the app Settings. Scroll down to the “Account Actions” Section. Tap on Clear Conversation.

Step 3: Tap Clear Conversation

From the Settings page at the bottom, tap on Clear Conversation and you’ll see all the Snapchatters that you’ve chatted with.

To clear someone’s conversation with you from the chat feed tap on the X icon next to their name.

And you’ll see prompts that allow you to confirm that you want to clear the conversation from your chat feed. Tap on Clear.

Once you clear the conversation, it’ll be removed from the chat feed. Messages you sent or saved will not be deleted.

Conclusion

Deleting messages on Snapchat is easy, but you’ll not be able to delete messages sent by other users.

You’ll only be allowed to delete your message from the chat. If you’ve saved the message, you can unsave the message before deleting it.

If you send someone a message and the person saved it, you can delete it from your end and the message will be removed from their conversation with you.

To delete Snapchat messages, just go to the Chat section, find a conversation you want to remove, tap and hold any of the messages, then tap on Delete.

If you want to delete a saved message, you’ll need to unsave it first. The saved message is always shown on grey background. Just tap on it, then follow the step to delete the message.

Remember you’ll not be able to delete the other person’s message, they’re the only ones who can do so from their Snapchat account.

ALSO READ: How To Add And Remove Someone From Snapchat Group

Frequently Asked Questions

How do I know if someone else saved my messages?

Saved messages on Snapchat will always have a grey background. If you send a message and the user saved it, the color will change to grey, while the white background means that the message has not been saved.

Does clearing conversations on Snapchat delete everything?

No, clearing a conversation does not delete the chat or snaps sent and received. It’ll only remove the conversation from the chat feed, and you’ll still be able to see past saved messages when you open the chat again.

Does deleting my account removed saved messages?

Yes, the saved messages will be removed from your account, but the other Snapchatters will still be able to see them even after you’ve deleted your account. They’ll be able to see saved messages until after 30 days when your account will be completely deleted.

If I delete a conversation, will the other user still be able to see it?

Yes, the other Snapchatters will be able to see the conversation on their end even after you’ve deleted a conversation from the chat feed. Everything on the conversation will still be available for them to see.

How do you permanently delete conversations on Snapchat?

You can’t permanently delete conversations on Snapchat. You can only clear the chat from the chat feed on Snapchat. To permanently delete a conversation, you’ll have to delete all the saved messages first, before clearing the chat from the feed.

Share This Article
By Timothy Iyekowa Writer & Editor
Follow:
As a seasoned content writer with 4+ years of experience in consumer technology, Timothy has been a dedicated author and editor at Techvocast.com since its inception. Specializing in addressing user concerns, his articles offer effective solutions for Android, iOS, Windows, and Mac-related issues. Timothy's expertise also extends to crafting content about social media and various applications. Through his daily articles, he consistently aids users in overcoming their technology challenges.
Leave a comment
Techvocast