If you have plenty of drafts on TikTok, and you clear the app data on your Android device just to save some storage space, the drafts on your account will be deleted.
Creating content on TikTok, then you must be one of the Stars on the app. Well, that doesn’t say well for the draft you have behind your profile. And now, you’re asking does clearing data delete drafts on TikTok?
Well, drafts on TikTok allow you to save videos you haven’t completed yet, or you’re just waiting for the perfect time to release the video, or it contains content you haven’t completed.
In this article, you’ll learn whether clearing the TikTok app data will delete the draft on your account. We got this tested, and here are our findings.
Does Clearing Data Delete Drafts On TikTok?
Yes, clearing data on the TikTok app on your Android phone will delete your drafts.
The drafts on your TikTok account will be deleted once you clear app storage from the phone Settings.
When you clear data for the TikTok app on your Android phone, all your drafts will be removed and you’ll not be able to retrieve them.
When you clear data on Android apps, every data, and apps files will be removed. So all your account and temporary data stored will be deleted.
And when you sign in back to your TikTok account, you’ll see that the Drafts will not be available for you to edit.
So if you don’t want your drafts to be deleted from your account when you clear the TikTok app data, you should clear the cache instead.
Just in case, you cannot clear data on your iPhone or iPad, there is no way to do this without deleting the app itself.
If you’re using an iPad or iPhone, offloading the TikTok app will not delete drafts. iPhone doesn’t have the feature for users to clear data in apps.
ALSO READ: What Does “Clear Cache” Mean on TikTok?
What Happens If I Clear My Data On TikTok?
If you’ve been using TikTok for a while now you’ll know it takes a lot of space when you regularly use it.
For users with an Android device, if you clear the data for your TikTok app, some things’ll happen to your account on the app.
When you clear data on TikTok for Android, this is what happened. The app will be accessible, but when you open it, you’ll get a fresh app asking you to sign up for an account.
It’ll be as if you just downloaded the app from the Google Play Store. And all you just need to do now is to log in.
When you clear the data on the TikTok app, your drafts will be deleted from your account.
This is because when you clear data from the phone settings, it’ll removes the files on your local storage.
And since the drafts are stored locally they will be deleted. You’ll not be able to get the drafts back once it’s has been deleted.
Once you clear data on TikTok, you’ll have free storage space, and all app files will be deleted from your device.
ALSO READ: Does Offloading TikTok Delete Your Drafts?
How Do You Clear TikTok Without Deleting Drafts?
If you want to clear TikTok without deleting drafts, you’ll need to clear the TikTok app cache. As this is the only way to do it.
On the TikTok app, you’ll be able to clear the cache on both iPhone and Android devices.
For iPhone users, you can also offload the TikTok app, and your drafts won’t be deleted.
If you’re using an Android, the only way to do this is to clear the cache.
There’s also an option to clear cache from your Android phone app settings. This will only remove temporary files stored on your device.
How To Clear Data On TikTok App On Android?
If you want to get some storage space on your Android device, you can clear the data on the app.
Once your clear data on TikTok, all your drafts will be deleted from your account.
Open Android Settings > Tap on Apps & notifications > Tap on App info > And then find the TikTok app > Tap on Storage & Cache > Tap on Clear Cache.
Step 1: Go To Your Android Settings
On your Android device, open the Settings app and then tap on Apps & notifications. You’ll see app settings for your device.
On some Android devices, you’ll see the options “Apps” or “Apps & info”
Step 2: Tap On App info
On the App & notifications page, you’ll see different options. Tap on the App info.
Sometimes, you’ll see the list of apps that were recently opened on your device. And then tap the See all [num] apps option at the bottom of the list.
Step 3: Find TikTok App
From the App info page, you’ll see all the third-party apps that you have installed on your device, you’ll also see system apps.
The app list is arranged in alphabetical order, all you have to do is scroll to the “T” section.
Scroll through the different apps on the list, and when you see the TikTok app, tap on it to clear the storage data.
If you can’t find the TikTok app, search for it by tapping on the search icon at the top right corner of your screen.
Step 4: Tap On Storage & Cache
Once you tap on the TikTok app from the App list, you’ll see the options like Uninstall, Force Stop, and Permission.
Tap on the Storage & Cache option.
On the next page, you’ll see the Clear Storage and Clear Cache option.
Step 5: Clear Storage (Clear Data)
Clear Storage represents your user data, Clear Cache represents Cache.
It shows the amount of space data or cache is taking from your local storage.
Tap on the Clear Storage option to clear the TikTok app data from your device.
All the TikTok files will be deleted from your device, which also contains the TikTok drafts.
The app will still be available on your device’s Home Screen, just open the app, and log in to your account.
You can also access the apps from your storage settings. Open Settings > Storage > Other Apps or Apps > Tap on TikTok > Tap on Storage & Cache > Tap Clear Storage (Data).
Android comes with plenty of features, and one is giving users the option to clear data on any app without uninstalling the app.
If you are thinking of clearing data on the TikTok app, do note that when you clear the data, all the drafts available on the account will be deleted.
Most creators on TikTok have a lot of drafts on their accounts, and even for the norms, creating content every day is a lot of work.
Clearing the TikTok data on your Android is a great way to get some storage space, but when you do it, your drafts will get deleted.
Frequently Asked Questions
How do I clear data on TikTok without losing drafts?
There is no way for you to clear TikTok app data without losing your drafts. Once you clear the app data from your device, all your drafts saved will be deleted. The only way to avoid this is to clear your TikTok cache.
How do I get my drafts back after deleting TikTok?
You cannot get your drafts back once you have deleted the TikTok app from your device. To avoid deleting your drafts, you can clear the cache on your Android, or offload the app on your iPhone.
Do TikTok drafts take up storage?
Yes, TikTok drafts take a chuck of your storage space, this only happens if you have plenty of drafts saved up on your account.
What happens to your drafts when you delete TikTok?
Your drafts will be gone forever, and you’ll not be able to get them back. Deleting your TikTok app from your mobile phone will remove the drafts from your account.
What happens if you clear data on TikTok?
You’ll gain a lot of storage on your device, and the TikTok app will not be removed from your phone. Your drafts will be deleted. And you’ll need to sign in again.
Does clearing TikTok data delete drafts?
Yes, clearing data on TikTok will delete the drafts on your account. This is because when you clear the app data, it will delete all the files from your local storage.