Does Clearing The TikTok Cache Delete My Drafts? (Answered)

Timothy Iyekowa
Timothy Iyekowa - Writer & Editor
11 Min Read

If you have plenty of drafts on TikTok, and you clear the app clear on your Android or iPhone device just to save some storage space, No, the drafts on your TikTok account will not be deleted.

Creating content on TikTok, then you must be one of the Stars on the app. Well, that doesn’t say well for the draft you have behind your profile. And now, you’re asking does clearing cache delete drafts on TikTok?

Well, drafts on TikTok allow you to save videos you haven’t completed yet, or you’re just waiting for the perfect time to release the video, or it contains content you haven’t completed.

In this article, you’ll learn whether clearing the TikTok app cache will delete the draft video on your account. We got this tested, and here are our findings.

ALSO READ: What Does “Clear Cache” Mean on TikTok?

Does Clearing Cache Delete Drafts On TikTok?

No, clearing the cache on the TikTok app on your iPhone or Android device will not delete drafts.

The drafts on your TikTok account will not be deleted once you clear the app cache from the app or phone Settings.

When you clear the cache for the TikTok app on your phone, all your drafts will not be removed. It will only clear out temporary data stored by the app.

When you clear the cache on apps, the data and apps files will not be deleted.

And when you sign in back to your TikTok account, you’ll see that the Drafts will be available for you to edit.

You can clear the cache on your TikTok app settings, or if you have an Android device you’ll be able to clear the cache from the phone app settings.

ALSO READ: Does Clearing Data Delete Drafts On TikTok?

What Happens If I Clear My Cache On TikTok?

Clearing the cache on the TikTok app will not delete drafts on your account. It’ll only delete the temporary data that the app stores.

I know you’ve been using TikTok for a while now, you know it takes a lot of storage space when you regularly use it.

If you clear the cache for your TikTok app, some things’ll happen to your account on the app.

When you clear the cache on TikTok (from the app), this is what happened.

When you clear the cache on the TikTok app, your drafts will not be deleted from your account.

And you’ll first experience slowing loading time when you sign in to the app.

Once you clear the cache on TikTok, you’ll have free storage space, and all app temporary files will be removed from your device.

ALSO READ: Does Offloading TikTok Delete Your Drafts?

How To Clear Cache On TikTok?

If you want to get some storage space on your Android device, you can clear the cache on the app.

Once your clear the cache on the TikTok app, your account login details will be removed, and your drafts will not be deleted. And temp data will be deleted.

Clear Cache On The TikTok App?

Clearing cache on the TikTok app is easy on both iPhone and Android devices.

All you’ve to do is go to the TikTok app settings and clear the cache. To begin with open the app.

Open TikTok > Tap on Profile at bottom right > Tap on the three lines at the top right > Tap on Setting and privacy > Scroll to Cache & Cellular Data, and tap on Free up space > Tap on Clear to delete TikTok cache.

Step 1:  Open TikTok App

Open the TikTok app on your iPhone or Android device, and then tap on Profile at the bottom right corner of your screen.

Tap on Profile

Step 2: Tap On There Lines

On your profile page, tap on the three horizontal lines at the top right corner of your screen.

Tap on the three horizontal lines

You’ll see a small pop-up menu at the bottom of the page and then tap on Settings and privacy.

Tap on Settings and privacy

Step 3: Tap On Free Up Space

On the Settings page, scroll down to the Cache & Cellular Data section, and tap on Free up space.

Tap on Free up space

On the next page, tap on Clear on the Cache section.

Tap on clear cache

Where it says “Clear your cache to free up space. This won’t affect your TikTok experience.”

Clear Cache On Android?

On Android, you can also clear the cache for any app you’ve to install, and the one that comes pre-install on your phone. Go to your Android settings to get started.

Open Android Settings > Tap on Apps & notifications > Tap on App info > And then find the TikTok app > Tap on Storage & Cache > Tap on Clear Cache.

Step 1:  Go To Your Android Settings

On your Android device, open the Settings app and then tap on Apps & notifications. You’ll see app settings for your device.

Tap on Apps & notifications

On some Android devices, you’ll see the options “Apps” or “Apps & info”

Step 2: Tap On App info

On the App & notifications page, you’ll see different options. Tap on the App info.

Sometimes, you’ll see the list of apps that were recently opened on your device. And then tap the See all [num] apps option at the bottom of the list.

Tap on App info

Step 3: Find TikTok App

From the App info page, you’ll see all the third-party apps that you have installed on your device, you’ll also see system apps.

The app list is arranged in alphabetical order, all you have to do is scroll to the “T” section.

Scroll through the different apps on the list, and when you see the TikTok app, tap on it to clear the app cache.

Tap on TikTok app

If you can’t find the TikTok app, search for it by tapping on the search icon at the top right corner of your screen.

Step 4: Tap On Storage & Cache

Once you tap on the TikTok app from the App list, you’ll see the options like Uninstall, Force Stop, and Permission.

Tap on the Storage & Cache option. On the next page, you’ll see Clear Storage and Clear Cache option.

Tap on Storage & cache

Step 5: Clear Cache

The Clear Storage represents your User data, Clear Cache represents Cache.

It shows the amount of space the app is taking from your local storage.

Tap on the Clear Cache option to clear the TikTok app cache from your device.

Tap on Clear Cache

If you clear the cache from your Android app Settings instead of the app, you won’t be logged out of your account.

You can also access the apps from your Android Storage settings. Open Settings > Storage > Other Apps or Apps > Tap on TikTok > Tap on Storage & Cache > Tap Clear Cache.

Conclusion

Most apps now come with the option to clear the cache. For Android users, you’ll be able to clear cache from your phone app Settings.

iPhone doesn’t have this feature yet, so using the in-app feature to remove cache is your best choice.

Clearing the TikTok cache on your phone is a great way to get some storage space. And of course, your drafts won’t be deleted.

ALSO READ: What Does A Temporary Post Ban On TikTok Mean (How To Avoid Ban)

Frequently Asked Questions

How do you clear TikTok without deleting drafts?

If you want to clear TikTok without deleting drafts, you’ll need to clear the cache only. This will only remove the temp data the app has stored on your device.

Does clearing the TikTok cache delete drafts?

No, clearing the cache on TikTok won’t delete the drafts on your account. This is because when you clear the app cache, it will only delete all the temporary files from your local storage.

Does clearing cache on TikTok delete liked videos?

No, clearing the cache on TikTok won’t delete the videos you have liked on the app. Your liked videos are stored on the TikTok servers. So when you sign to any device you’ll see the liked videos

How do I get my drafts back after deleting TikTok?

You cannot get your drafts back once you have deleted the TikTok app from your device. To avoid deleting your drafts. Instead, you can clear the cache on your Android, or offload the app on your iPhone.

Do TikTok drafts take up storage?

Yes, TikTok drafts take a chuck of your storage space, this only happens if you have plenty of drafts saved up on your account.

What happens to your drafts when you delete TikTok?

Your drafts will be gone forever, and you’ll not be able to get them back. Deleting your TikTok app from your mobile phone will remove the drafts from your account.

What happens if you clear the cache on TikTok?

You’ll gain a lot of storage on your device, and the TikTok app but the TikTok app will not be removed from your phone. Your drafts won’t be deleted.

Share This Article
By Timothy Iyekowa Writer & Editor
Follow:
As a seasoned content writer with 4+ years of experience in consumer technology, Timothy has been a dedicated author and editor at Techvocast.com since its inception. Specializing in addressing user concerns, his articles offer effective solutions for Android, iOS, Windows, and Mac-related issues. Timothy's expertise also extends to crafting content about social media and various applications. Through his daily articles, he consistently aids users in overcoming their technology challenges.
Leave a comment
Techvocast