How To Block a Contact or Someone on Hinge [Before And After Matching]

If you don't like the match the algorithm has given you, you can just as easily block them. As do mutual friends and connections.
Timothy Iyekowa
Timothy Iyekowa - Writer & Editor
8 Min Read

People are everywhere, even on Hinge you’ll see mutual friends and connections. So if you’re wondering if you can block a contact on Hinge? Yes, you can.

And they’ll not be able to match with you again. You’ll also get the opportunity to remove them before they see your profile.

If you don’t like the match, the algorithm has given you, you can just as easily block them. As do mutual friends and contacts you have on your device.

In this article, you’ll learn how to block a contact on Hinge, and people you don’t want to see. And you’ll also learn how to hide your profile on Hinge.

Can You Block Contacts on Hinge?

Yes, you can block a contact on Hinge. You can block someone you don’t like or people on your contacts list you don’t want to match with.

Once you block someone on Hinge, the person won’t be able to match with you again.

So avoiding those exes, and people you think aren’t good for you, you can hit the block button in their profile. You can also use the Block Contacts feature on the app.

You can block someone on Hinge before matching with them, or even after you have matched with the person. Here’s how you can do it.

How To Block Contacts on Hinge

You can easily block your contacts list on Hinge to avoid seeing them on the app. With this feature, you can sync your contacts list, and Hinge won’t show you these people. To sync the list.

Step 1: Open Hinge

If you want to block your contacts list from appearing on the app, open the Hinge app and tap on your profile icon.

Step 2: Go to Settings

From your Profile Picture menu, tap on the Settings option, then scroll down and tap on Block List.

Step 3: Sync Contacts

From the Block List section, tap on Sync Contacts and allow Hinge access to your contact list. From here, you will select which contact you want to block.

How To Block a Contact Manually

If you want to block a contact manually from the app to avoid seeing them, here is how you can easily do it from the Block Contacts option.

Step 1: Open the Hinge app

Open the Hinge app and tap on your profile icon. From the menu list, tap on Settings.

Step 2: Tap on Block List

On the Settings option, scroll down and tap on Block List. From the Block List option, you can manually add the contact you specifically don’t want to see on the Hinge app.

Tap on the plus + icon at the top of the screen and type in the person’s contact info, then tap on Done.

How To Block Someone on Hinge Before Matching

So, if you want to block a contact on Hinge to prevent the person from matching with you, how do you do it?

In this guide, you’ll see how you can remove and block someone on Hinge before matching with them.

Step 1: Open Hinge

To block a contact on Hinge before matching, you’ll need to do it from the Discovery tab.

First, open the Hinge app on your Android or iOS device, and then tap on the “H” section.

Step 2: Go To the Discovery or Standouts Tab

Tap on the “H” tab at the bottom left corner of your screen. This is also the Discovery or Standout tab.

It’s where you see a profile that has a mutual connection with you, and the one you can potentially match with.

Step 3: Tap on the Three Dots ⋮

Once you see a profile of someone you want to block or remove before matching on the Discovery tab, tap on their profile.

Then, tap on the three vertical dots at the top right corner of your screen.

Step 4: Tap Remove

Once you tap on the three dots, you’ll see different options. Tap on Remove. And then you’ll need to select a reason for removing the person.

You can select “No reason” if you like.

Once you select a reason, the person will not be able to see you on their list, and you won’t see their profile again.

How To Block Someone On Hinge After Matching

If you’ve already got a match but you no longer like the person or the person isn’t interested in you, and you want to block, here’s how to do it.

Step 1: Open Hinge

To block a contact with Hinge after matching, you’ll need to go to their profile.

First, open the Hinge app on your Android or iPhone device, and then go to the Message section.

Step 2: Go To Message

Once you’ve opened the app, you’ll see the message tab before your profile [settings] section page.

You’ll see all the people you’ve been in contact with. Now, find the profile you want to block, and then tap on the profile.

Step 3: Tap The Three Vertical Dots

Once you’ve seen the person you want to block, tap on their profile.

Then, tap on the three vertical dots at the top right corner of your screen, and tap on Block.

Step 4: Select A Reason

After you’ve tapped on Block, a pop-up menu will appear. Now select the reason you’re blocking the person.

Now, confirm that you want to delete the match, and then Hinge will delete the match from your Hinge Match Queue.

Conclusion

Hinge is a dating app that allows you to see mutual friends and connections, and here you might eventually see your exes.

If you don’t want that, you can block them even before they send you a match. You can also block people you’ve already matched with.

Once you block someone on Hinge, they’ll not be able to see your profile again. If you have messaged them before, the message will disappear, and you’ll also not appear in their search results,

So if you want to block someone on Hinge before matching and prevent them from seeing your profile.

You can use the guide above. Still, open the Hinge app, and go to the “H” tab. Once you see the person, tap on the profile, click on the three dots, and tap Remove.

You can also block contacts on Hinge by using the Block list option. Go to Settings, tap on Block List, tap the plus + icon input the contact info, then tap on Done.

FAQs on How To Block Someone On Hinge

If you want to hide someone on Hinge you can block them from seeing your profile on the "Discovery" or "Standouts" tab, go to their profile once you see them in your Discovery Tab, and then tap on the three vertical dots ⋮ in the top right corner of their profile, and then tap on Remove.

Yes, you can hide (pause) your Hinge profile to prevent it from appearing on someone's Discovery tab. To hide your Hinge account, tap on your photo icon, and then tap on the gear icon (settings) and toggle on the "pause" section to hide your profile.

Yes, removing someone on Hinge is just like blocking someone. Once you remove a match, it's the same as removing or unmatching. Because you'll not be able to match with the person ever again on the app.

Further Reading

Share This Article
By Timothy Iyekowa Writer & Editor
Follow:
As a seasoned content writer with 4+ years of experience in consumer technology, Timothy has been a dedicated author and editor at Techvocast.com since its inception. Specializing in addressing user concerns, his articles offer effective solutions for Android, iOS, Windows, and Mac-related issues. Timothy's expertise also extends to crafting content about social media and various applications. Through his daily articles, he consistently aids users in overcoming their technology challenges.
Leave a comment
Techvocast