The Facebook-owned app says that Facebook can’t see WhatsApp chats, or spy on users, because messages are encrypted. And it is the same technology that Signal Messenger uses to encrypt its messages.
The new terms for WhatsApp made headlines in the last few weeks. And many users switch over to Signal and Telegram Messenger. The download of these apps skyrocketed when WhatsApp suggest people show to accept the terms, or some features might not be able to function.
If you don’t want to use the messaging app anymore you can check out some WhatsApp alternatives. Using WhatsApp gives you lots of features, but if you don’t want. Here’s how you can delete your WhatsApp account.
How to delete a WhatsApp account
1. Open WhatsApp on your Android or iPhone device, and click on “Settings” after tapping on the three-dot at the right top corner for Android. While on iPhone click on “Settings” at the right bottom corner of your screen.
2. In the Settings menu, click on “Account” and a new page will open. Deleting your account on WhatsApp will remove you from all groups, erase all your messages history, and delete your account.
3. Under “Account” at the bottom, you’ll see “Delete your account.” To delete your account, confirm your country code, enter your number, and click on “Delete my account.”
Once you delete your WhatsApp account, you won’t be able to see all your messages. All your messages will be erased, and you’ll be removed from all groups. Before you delete your account, you can backup your WhatsApp chats to Drive if you already have a Google Account.
If you don’t want to delete your account, you can change your phone number and get to use another number for your WhatsApp. With all the trouble and misconception happening, you just have to stay close and see what happens next.