Facebook Privacy: How to Protect your Account Privacy

author photo

Advertisement
Facebook is getting to know too much about you, while using their platform, Facebook collect too many information from users which is use by advertisers to target ads to you. Sometime it just feel awkward just after leaving one site and then you see advert on Facebook for the same site; please can't they just show me another that may be worthwhile. Facebook said they are going to fix the privacy issue with user and who knows when that will happen so we don't mind taking any chances so let fix some our selves.
Facebook Privacy
Images: ShutterStock
Keeping some information out of Facebook is something worthwhile, protecting your private information from Facebook is not just a one step as they are ways to tweak while staying at a bench for privacy security.

They are plenty of ways to keep your privacy on Facebook safe at least better than not doing it at all.

Here are some of the way you can protect your privacy on Facebook.

Disable Facebook facial recognition

Facebook facial recognition. This is how Facebook is able to recognize you using facial recognition in just any photos and video you uploaded. Here how to disable the Facebook facial recognition for your personal account.

On Mobile Devices: Here is how you can disable the Facebook facial recognition in your mobile phone. The case on disabling the facial recognition might be different with its first step for both android and iOS but all the same they are both disabled in settings.

On Android Device: To disable the facial recognition on any Facebook app, tap on the three horizontal line also know as the bookmark tap on the upper right of the screen and on iOS Devices, tap on three horizontal line on the lower right of your screen, scroll down and tap on Settings and Privacy. 

Once you're in the settings for your Facebook account, you can deactivate or tweak your Privacy.

Scroll down and select “Control facial recognition” to deactivate the facial recognition
tap the right arrow, and from the next screen, tap “No” for an iOS device. On Android Devices tap the icon that says “Do you want Facebook to be able to recognize you in photos and videos?” On the next display, tap “No”.


On Facebook web: To disable facial recognition on Facebook web is seamless easy, on the right top corner on any Facebook page tap on the question mark or down arrow and select Privacy tap on Control Facial Recognition” on the next display click “Edit,” select “No,” and then “Close”.

Deleting personal information on Facebook

If you don't want Facebook and other people to know and make interference about your personal information you might want to rethink on deleting those information. You'll be shock about the information you put on Facebook through which Facebook acquired your data from, from birthday, phone number, location and places you have been to. Here is how you can removed your personal information on Facebook .

On Mobile Devices: Here is how you can delete  your personal information on Facebook. To make this happen head over to your account profile or simply tap on your photo in Newsfeed, scroll down and tap on “Edit Public Details” or “Edit Profile” scroll down and tap on “Edit Your About Info”. In this screen you'll be able to edit your personal information which include places you have been and places you have work, where you have been and all you have interact your self with. Tap on the pencil icon on the right to edit the info.

On Facebook web: To delete your personal info on Facebook web head over to your Facebook profile or tap your image in Newsfeeds to access your profile. To edit your about info of the palaces, Education and work, tap over any of the info you don't want on Facebook, once you do that you'll see an option that let you edit the information or just delete it if you don't want it on Facebook.

Choose who can see your post and personal information

Choosing the people you want to see your post and personal information is all your concept. If you want to be really know by your friends and follower you can enable your profile information to go public or you just want a small connection around Friend zone, you can do that by allowing just your friends to see your information.

On Mobile Devices: To choose the people you want to see your profile information tap on the three horizontal line at the upper right corner of your Facebook page on Android Devices and on iOS Devices, tap on three horizontal line on the lower right of your screen, scroll down and tap on Settings and Privacy or “Privacy Shortcut”.

In your settings there is a section that display “Privacy Settings”, you can make change's here by selecting “who can see your future post,” in “Your activity” subsection and who can see your “birthday, birth year and contact information” in subsection of “Your Information”.

On Facebook web: on Facebook web you can change your privacy settings with a few click, on any Facebook page tap on the question mark or down arrow at the top right corner and click on
“Settings,” then choose “Privacy” on the left side of the screen. You can make change's here by selecting “who can see your future post,” in “Your activity” subsection and who can see your “birthday birth year and contact information” in subsection of “Your Information”.

Limiting the Data Facebook Partners Collect 

Facebook partner, when you login or sign up on other site or mobile app using Facebook, these sites get access to data from your Facebook account in the cases such data may include your photo, name, and other information which will be highlighted to you when you want to connect to other site using Facebook.

You can limit the information these app collect about you from Facebook or removed the app from your account to disable access to account information.

Using the Facebook web, we allowed you to turn off access for specific sites, while on mobile devices you can get rid of all the connections in one click.

On Mobile Device: To limit the data collected by sites you uses while signing with Facebook go to any Facebook page and tap on the three horizontal line on the upper right top corner on Android Devices and the lower right corner of the screen of an iOS Devices.

Scroll to “Settings and Privacy” and on the security Column tap on Apps and Websites. Head over to
 “Apps, Websites and Games,” and tap on “Edit”, tap on “Turn Off.” and this will remove the permissions for every site that you formerly logged in to using Facebook.

On Facebook Web: Head over to your Facebook Settings in web and select “Apps and Websites” from the left side of the screen, from there you'll be able to see all the site you have connected your Facebook with. To removed these site from accessing your Facebook data check the box next to the app you want to deactivate and click on Remove. In this page you'll also see app that have expire.
Advertisement