Techvocast is supported by its audience like you. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Learn more

How to permanently delete Facebook

author photo By Published in Last updated on

Say bye to Facebook, tired of the fake lives on Facebook scrolling the painstaking moment on news feed, viewing notification that means nothing to you and now you choose to quit, but you’re thinking about the time you spent on Facebook and how it has to change your life over the years, or you’re just distracted by it and want to focus on something more, you just decided you want to delete your Facebook account.
How to permanently delete Facebook
Image: pixabay 
You might as well want to rethink upon deleting your Facebook account, because permanently deleting Facebook can’t be recovered, ever.

If you want to quit Facebook for a period you can deactivate your account and reactivate anytime you want to.

Steps to deactivate your Facebook account 

For Mobile Facebook App
  • Tap Main Menu in the top right
  • Scroll down and tap Settings.
  • Scroll down and tap Account Ownership and Control under Your Facebook Information.
  • Tap Deactivation and Deletion.
  • Select Deactivate Account and tap Continue to Account Deactivation.
  • Enter your Facebook password and confirm deactivation.
For Facebook Web 
  • Click on the down arrow in the upper-right corner of Facebook and click on Settings
  • Click on General
  • Click on Manage Account
  • Click on Deactivate your account
  • Enter your Facebook password and confirm deactivation
When your account is deactivated, no one can see your profile, information, like messages you sent to friends may still be visible to your friends and can still see your name in their friend's list.

You can still use Messenger if you were logged into Messenger when you deactivate your Facebook account, then Messenger will remain active and you can chat with friends. Your Facebook profile picture will still be visible in your conversations on Messenger. Other people can search for you to send you a message.

To reactivate your Facebook account 

If you like to reactivate your Facebook account logged back to Facebook account using the same email and password.

If you wish to deactivate Messenger follow these steps.

You can only deactivate your Messenger account if you deactivated your Facebook account.

To deactivate Messenger

Open Messenger.
Tap on your profile picture in the top right corner > Legal & Policies > Deactivate Messenger.  Enter your password and tap Continue. Tap Deactivate.

If you want to reactivate Messenger, log in with your username and password.

If you want to delete your account and all your information like photos and videos, we guide you through the step in deleting your Facebook account.


RELATED

How to delete all Twitter tweet and History

How to fix app not installed on your Android phone

How to view notification history on Android device

Steps to delete your account 

Before deleting your account, you may want to consider downloading a copy of your information like your photos and posts from Facebook. Because after your account has been deleted, you won’t be able to retrieve anything you’ve added.

For Mobile Facebook App
  • Tap Main Menu at the top right
  • Scroll down and tap Settings.
  • Scroll down to Your Facebook Information section and tap Delete Your Account and Information.
  • Enter your password and tap Submit.
For Facebook Web
  • Click at the top right of any Facebook page.
  • Click Settings.
  • Click Your Facebook Information in the left column.
  • Click Delete Your Account and Information, then click Delete My Account.
  • Enter your password, click Continue and then click Delete Account.
When you delete your account, you won’t be able to use Facebook Messenger, and you can’t use Facebook to log in for other apps you may have signed up for with your Facebook account. You can’t be able to reactivate your Facebook account.

How to cancel account deletion

You can only cancel your deletion if it’s been less than 30 days since you started the deletion. Log into your Facebook account within 30 days of deleting your account and click Cancel Deletion. After 30 days you won’t be able to retrieve your information.l

It may take up to 90 days from the beginning of the deletion process to delete all the things you’ve posted.

You can deactivate your Facebook account for as long as you want and reactivate it at any time, and focus on whatever you’re doing.